Help with statistics! (Probability)

Xavo.au

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Hey mate, for this you're gonna need access to a T Distribution table. I'm no expert at Statistics, but I had a workshop for pretty much the exact same stuff yesterday arvo - so I'll try and give you a hand.

Remember Degrees of Freedom - 1. (Not sure why, but that's just what happens).

So for the first one you want to find the Z score of the probability.

So the formula is: z = (x/n) -μ / σ
(Where x is the number of days and n is the amount of riders)

this is where I get unclear because yesterday we had to fiddle with the SD, because the one given was the SD of the sample - but I don't think you need to do it because your sample is only 1?

Yours gives me: z = ((380/1) - 400)/ 30 = -0.6667
with a corresponding probability of: 0.476

[One thing is, that might be the probability of 380 days or more - since I'm following the formula for finding the probability of the weight of a bag being at least x grams or over...]

Not quite sure if that's right or not haha but that's what I came up with. Hopefully someone on here is better at stats than I am (I failed it last semester :p but I'm doing better so far this semester)

pharmaboy

Eats Squid
Rotorburners, I need your help! Ordinarily I'd go see a tutor about this sort of thing, but drop-in sessions are booked up for almost a fortnight, and I really don't want to fall that far behind - so I'm appealing to RB's academic collective to give me some support!
I'm not necessarily after answer's, but some sort of explanation of how I'd approach and work through the multiple associated questions would be helpful. And because you'll be doing the job that someone else would ordinarily be paid to do, I'll throw in a reward ;)

The time the average punter spends mountain biking over 3 years varies according to a distribution that is approximately normal with a mean of 400 days, and a standard deviation of 30 days.