Is the Minion DHF too much tyre for me?

hilo

Likes Bikes
Hi All

Been more recently riding a bit more aggressively--rode in Livigno in Italy on a rented 27.5+ Scott Genius and came back to my first rides on a Hightower (not LT) with 150mm MRP fork/DVO Topaz on the rear.

Running 29" with Minion DHF 2.5wt on the front (brand spankin' new) and a Forekaster on the rear.

Most of Victoria imho is loose over hard pack or so and given the forecasts for the summer it will likely remain that.

I would call my riding 'cautious'--I am still relatively new to MTB, and my bikes have been 100mm/120mm suspension up until now. Loving the Hightower, but man that front tyre . . it's big and heavy. Seems a bit . .. overdone for me.

My riding covers Buxton, You Yangs (not the downhill runs), Forrest, and going to check out the new one in Harcourt soon (La Larr Ba Gauwa). I'd call it 'trail riding' though I am, with my new bike, trying more aggressive lines as my skills get better.

What would the rational choice be for a front tyre with the aim to throw it on a new wheelset that I can swap with the the DHF/Forekaster mix? I have a new Ardent and High Roller II sitting around I could easily use....

Sincerely,

Tyre n00b

moorey

call me Mia
It’s my go-to front tyre all year round (various Vic locations). I find it very predictable.
Try something else and see though. There’s nothing I’d swap it out for, personally.

hilo

Likes Bikes
It’s my go-to front tyre all year round (various Vic locations). I find it very predictable.
Try something else and see though. There’s nothing I’d swap it out for, personally.
This is what everyone says (well, many). I also note the fact that the real weight savings I need to work on have to do with my fleshy spare tyre.

moorey

call me Mia
It’s what, 850g? I know the front is less prone to cuts and punctures, but I no longer cut corners with tyres these days, when there’s rocks around.

hilo

Likes Bikes