Just got fired

screw loose

Likes Dirt
Well. . It's over. . I've just been given the flick by my employer an architectural office.

The word is that I’ll be taking my leave at the end of the year.
So I call around to my trusty local recruitment companies. Their advice: Go get a job waiting tables.

Recruitment has apparently stopped for the year. At the moment no one will hire me. I’m out on my ass until February, when the construction industry starts cranking up again.

There were no official warnings, and I am on salary.

If I remember correctly, since my employer isn’t a large corporation employing over 100 people, I have no rights to any sort of redundancy package. An IR law legacy left behind by our bushy browed friend, Johnny Howard.

Can one just be turfed onto the footpath when they're on a salary? I'd understand if I was a contractor. .
The reason I'm posting this is because, my boss isn't forthcoming with any sort of support to help me until I find more work.
I'm just wondering if anyone else has been in this situation. I have had no inclination that I'd be jobless up until 20 minutes ago. . Maggi noodles for christmas for everyone this year!

Thanks for your help guys

Last edited:

Spanky_Ham

Porcinus Slappius
yeah, feeling for ya mate... was in almost the exact position 12 months ago when spanky was invloved in a biotech company explosion, and without warning was out on his porcine arse.

Now, very few ppl will recruit before Xmas/new years.... and most will start to look @ new employees around mid jan next year.... no use employing ppl only to have to pay them xmas holidays......

Spanky got some training and was sweeping up behind road making machines for a few months in the wee hours of the morning.... was very enjoyable to tell the truth.... and a good change from the usual research labs he'd been in for the previous 5 years....

No, its not a nice time (just before xmas/new years) to lose a job....

hope you find something soon...

s

Trevor_S