Mucking round in the shed

belly_up

Likes Dirt
Curly said:
It's like dentistry. Leave it to the professionals....
People seem to have this misconception that professionlals are some kind of gods. They don't realise that half the time the people they think are professionals are no better / more qualified than themselves, and have simply gained that title by virtue of the fact that they are emplyed in that particular trade.

I know if had the choice of having something welded be a "professional" (who is in fact a first year apprentice that just happens to work at a welding joint) or a "non-professional" (who works in, say, accounting, but has been welding up hotrods in his shed for the last 20 years), i'd be choosing the non-professional. he'd probably be cheaper too!

I worked in a bike store for a while. I had no qualifications when i started, but as soon as i started working there, POW, as if by magic i was a professional bike mechanic, at least as far as all the customers were concerned, and the when i left, POW, i was back to being just some guy who rides bikes.

People place far too much emphasis on people's title's and not enough on thier abilities, and its their abilites that count. And the only way you improve those is to practice.

You're first set of bars may be a total disaster, but i bet you Azonic's first set of bars weren't anything to write home about either. How did they get better? through practice, and research and analysis of past designs. But anyone can do that, it's not magic, it's not cause they're "professionals", ineed they probably were'nt when they started.

So i say, if you want to make something, give it a shot, if you think you have a different idea that might work, give it a try, the way things happen is by people innovating and thinking outside the square.