Nemesis Marathon Challenge

adaib

Likes Dirt
hey
Does anyone know anything about the Neimisis Marrathon Challenge 2011? I've never done it before, and i'm considering doing it this year.
Whats the course like? Hard, technical, steep?
This years its the National marrathon Championships, so the feild should be good too.

Cheers
Brendan

Last edited:

Mark S

Likes Dirt
I would suggest reading the thread on last year's race:

http://www.rotorburn.com/forums/sho...hampionships-Avoca-April-18&highlight=nemesis

The main bone of contention was the "Pyrenees Trail" which was pretty much 8km of hiking track and barely rideable. Apparently they are "fixing" it for 2011.

After the race, many of us (including me) said we wouldn't do it again. But, in hindsight, it had everything (except excessive amounts of singletrack).

We loved the town of Avoca and the whole event had a great vibe. We will be back.

Regards, Mark.

Mark S

Likes Dirt
By the way, any chance of correcting the spelling in the title? If this thread gets legs it's going to drive me mad.

"Nemesis" and "marathon".

jathanas

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I felt it was an ordinary course but a very well run event.

By the way, any chance of correcting the spelling in the title? If this thread gets legs it's going to drive me mad.

"Nemesis" and "marathon".

^ +1

Please correct the thread title. Cheers :)

Last edited:

pistonbroke

Eats Squid
It is one tough race. It is steep, technical and hard. Sometimes all at once. I didn't stop all day and still missed the last cut off point after the 8-10km hike a bike section. For me it was a brutal race. If I was going back I would do the half, as the timing was just a bit tight for me. I think they could have started an hour earlier to give slugs like me a chance to finish.