New to Melbourne...where can I ride my MTB?

Hey all,

I'm new to Melbourne, fresh from a year in NZ and a summer of pedalling my Giant Trance around the trails of Wellington and beyond.

I boxed up my bike to bring with me (in a manufacturer box like new) but don't have the necessary specific tools for rebuilding my love and so I figured I'd reach out to the community...

I could pay for a LBS to rebuild the bike, but am keen to meet some local riders and hopefully find some people to ride with this winter. Are there any local community workshops around that work on a donation basis? Or does anyone have a full tool box and is keen to make a new friend/ride buddy and I could donate a 6 pack instead?

I'm an intermediate/advanced trail/enduro rider (and confident DH'er but without a DH rig) with a good engine and keen to get out of the city on weekends to explore. Will also be investing in some good lights soon enough for the night rides over winter.

Settled in St Kilda for the winter, and keen to meet new people. Any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Adam

Last edited:

The Reverend

Likes Bikes and Dirt
First off. Welcome!

The good news is that there are loads of places to get your MTB fix here in Melbourne, granted they might not all be as #enduro as you might be used to but you'll be able to test your rig comfortably here.

It does depend on how you travel about, if you've got a car / driver then you're in luck. If not then you're considerably more restricted.

I've only been a few places (and there are LOADS I don't know about) but....

Buxton - trail and XC. There are some nice jumps to be had there too as well as just decent XC loops.
You Yangs - Everything you could want, from XC, Trail, DH
Lysterfield - Mainly XC / light trail (easy to reach by train too!)

Others in the XC trail space are Redhill, Forrest, Bendigo.

There are some awesome alpine resorts too but they'll be closed for winter IIRC.