Rear shock question??

zacapp

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Hey guys, just purchased a new norco aurum 2 today and it comes stock with a 2013 fox van rc shock. Now I've got a 2010 rc4 w/ ti spring on my old 2010 demo and just wondering if it would be worth swapping the whole shock or just the ti spring. I've measured the rc4 against the vanilla and it seems to be a bit shorter in length, does this mean it won't fit the aurum? Sorry I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to suspension so any help is appreciated.
Cheers,
Zac.

SLoz

Likes Bikes
sorry mate your shock from your 2010 demo 8 is 8.75"x2.75". (shock length x stroke length)

The new aurums are running 9.5x3, same as the new demo 8. Unfortunately you can't swap shocks as it will change the leverage ratio/geo of the bike in a bad way. Same goes for your Ti spring, it will only fit 2.75" stroke shocks.

I would personally buy a better shock. My Van RC was rubbish, it may have just been a dodgy one but it was very basic, lacked any "pop" and use to bottom out of everything. I upgraded to a RockShock Vivid and im loving it, made the bike come to life. If you have the money then CCDB would be a great upgrade.

jrewing

Eats Squid
Your titanium spring will fit. They have more space between the coils so 8.75 will work on 9.5. I always do it that way. Saves more weight

driftking

Wheel size expert
Your titanium spring will fit. They have more space between the coils so 8.75 will work on 9.5. I always do it that way. Saves more weight
+1 should work also most springs are not listed at bind (fox is the only one i know of who does) so you have a little to play with as well. It should work.

On that not though jrewing,
Do you ever get coil bind doing this, it's a pretty good jump of .75inch. Do you find the shock feels different too as the rate will be out somewhat with the spring been Xlbs per inch and running a smaller spring does it alter how you need to tune the shock or create any sort of odd dampening issues at all?

SLoz