Scotch Drinkers

Nerf Herder

Wheel size expert
I have wanted to learn the nuances of Scotch for some time ... for no other reason than to try and enjoy something I hate, and determine whether its all just wankery. Its not for the sake of drinking, but certainly it will help me get to sleep.

I will start by stating I have no base of knowledge other then drinking mainly cheap scotch usually mixed with coke on very seldom occasions in my 20s. I hated beer back then too.

So into my local I go with the opening line ... "Hey Bruv, I want to teach myself the finer details of Scotch, what can you recommend ?"

The Store guys looks at me with a slight smirk and asks "how much you want to spend ?" whilst walking me towards the appropriate section.

"Do you want something Peaty ... (I missed the rest of it) ... " blah blah blah

I immediately say $40, but I scan the prices on the shelf and see there are items that push 60, 70, 90 + ... so say "maybe $50" ... "I want to understand the flavours of a decent Scotch" ... "understand what I'm tasting" .. also whilst shrugging and conveying my wish to share in his wisdom

He immediately reaches for a bottle in a cage ... "Monkey Shoulder" is its name ... "Blended Malt Scotch Whisky" ... "Batch 27" ... "Smooth and Rich", the propaganda on the label tells me

I then ask him "whats the next step up do you think ... " he points out a couple other bottles and runs me through the names in the $60 and $70 range, along with somemore blah blah ... but I've switched off by now as the cage intrigues me, as do the 3 monkeys melted onto the bottle.

So here I start ... I've poured a bit into a glass ( lets call it a finger ... did I get that right?) and start with my monkey on the rocks ... I can almost hear you, learned reader, gasping ... but pffft learn me.