Should the reducer in a DHX rotate?

RealizE

Likes Bikes
Greetings,

I've just pulled the DHX4 Coil out of my SX Trail and noticed that the reducer in the top eye (ie, the one closest to the main body) does not rotate. When I tighten the through bolt that attaches the shock to the frame, it binds the shock and it does not rotate around the bolt.

The Fox manual shows a gear puller being used to extract the reducer from the shock so that makes me think it is supposed to be fixed (in contrast, the one on my Rp3 spins freely).

Can anyone confirm whether the reducer should rotate inside the eye? If not, I'll need to machine up some kind of crush tube to stop the shock mount tabs closing in on the shaft and binding it.

Cheers,
Scott.

miko

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I have no DHX experience, but I know my old Van rotates. Generally the bushings have a coating on them so that they do rotate around the reducer. If you tighten the shock bolt and it binds, then somethings wrong.

Try new bushings. I ended up having to polish the reducer shaft on mine by using very fine grit sand paper and the reducer in a power drill. Be careful with that one though!

udi

swiss cheese
Understanding how the assembly operates will probably be a good start to understanding if your setup has a problem or not.

In a conventional setup, which I'm fairly sure the front shock mount of the SX trail is, this is how it works.

- Shock eyelet has a pressed in DU bushing
- Bushing does not rotate in shock
- Bushing has a reducer shaft pressed through it
- The reducer does rotate in the bushing, however it shouldn't by hand
- The reducer is clamped tight by the frame (or link, or whatever) from both sides.
- The spacers either side are essentially just locators, so that the shock eyelet (and du bushing) can't slide left to right on the reducer. They shouldn't be a tight fit between the frame and shock eyelet itself.