Shut up Legs!

MikeyH

Squid
I have been riding mt bikes for a few years now and raced in lots of different formats. I have recently bought a road bike for training, and have noticed that after a few hours of pedalling, my legs just seem to lock up and give out... This is not something I've ever experienced in any mt bike races (which are usually lap based, and therefore I get a rest in between laps) excepting for (100km) marathons... I feel like I've got heaps more to give from a cardiovascular standpoint, it's just the legs that are stopping me! Do you think this is a problem solved by just more hours riding, or should I be looking at leg specific exercise in the gym? Any advice would be much appreciated - it's not nice watching your mates ride off into the distance toward the end of a ride....:mmph:

Pastavore

Eats Squid
More hours riding sounds like the right approach. Road riding tends to have more constant, prolonged power requirements, compared to MTB where the terrain requires shorter more intense efforts, with periods of downhill/technical with less pedaling. If you have only recently started road riding, you are probably still adapting to the type of exercise.

And secondly, make sure your food and drink before, on the bike, and after are properly sorted. If you don't eat well, you are pretty much guaranteed to run out of legs after a few hours.

Knuckles

Lives under a bridge
More carbs, better cadence. Had the same problem when I got back on the bike after 10 or so years off. Legs used to cram and fatigue really easily found concentrating on my rhythm and eating more energy rich foods really made a difference. Now I can go for at least two blocks before I shit the bed.

Sent from my HTC Incredible S using Tapatalk 2

Jerry Atrick

Likes Bikes
FOOD FOOD FOOD... you will tend to do longer stints on the road bike putting out a constant power.