Skiing Destination for Beginners NSW

mtb1611

Seymour
Greetings. Thought I'd pick the collective brains of the skiiers here. I haven't been skiing since 1999 and have only skiied NSW snowfields. My sons (both 15) have never seen snow and as such have never skiied, so I'd like to take them in 2021. Any recommendations on the most suitable place to take absolute beginners? Any traps to avoid, things to keep mind etc? Any advice would be mush appreciated. Cheers.

Tubbsy

Packin' a small bird
Staff member
Selwyn used to be the go to for beginners, but a lot of their buildings were ruined by bushfires. Not sure if they will be ready to go for 2021.

So I’d pick Smiggins which is part of the bigger Perisher operation. Good progression from magic carpets, to easy pommas and t-bars and a slow chair lift.

You can get lessons at Smiggins which is a good start, however if they’re confident or fast learners stepping them up to lessons at Front Valley Perisher at some point would be good.

The all-day kids programme (drop off at 10, pick up at three) wasn’t offered this year, but your kids may be too old for that anyway. That was good because lunch was included and you could head off with your partner and friends and have a decent ski.

If you stay up at Smiggins you can leave your car there overnight, most accom at Perisher requires you to leave it at the Skitube long-term parking. Or you can of course commute up from Jindy every morning, but traffic is heavy and getting teenagers out of bed....

Hiring a locker up the hill is a great idea if you’re not staying on snow, lugging all the shit around is a real time pit.

August is best for snow cover generally, and you need to book early.

tubby74

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Id suggest blue cow over smiggins for the presence of lifts over tows. Pleasant valket for instance is a nice long beginners run. Lift up is both a rest and one less place to wipe out compared to tow lifts.