SLX rear brake sometimes goes soft

Ricker

Likes Dirt
Couldn't work out what to search on google to find the information I was looking for, so though I would bring it here. Basically my brakes work fine, but every now again, if I do a wheelie or a jump my rear brake goes soft in the trigger. And I have to squeeze it in another whole cm or so before it start applying pressure to the discs. After a couple of pumps it goes back to normal? Kinda disconcerting when i'm flying along and then suddenly I need to squeeze my brakes much further than i'm used to.

Does this sound like air has got in the line? I'm new to brakes, so not sure whats involved in any fixes offered.

teK--

Eats Squid
Air in lines. It is working into line then getting pushed out to reservoir and working back into the lines. Bleed them.

The Duckmeister

Has a juicy midrange
How's the pad wear? Although the pistons are self-adjusting to a large degree, if the pads are getting thin they can tend to retract more, requiring pumping up.

moorey

call me Mia
All my 785's (and mates) do a funny thing with the bike vertical. Squeeze lever bad it goes into bar. Lower wheel and it's fine immediately again. It's not a bleed issue, it's just a quirk of the brake. Are they current model slx?

Ricker

Likes Dirt
They are on a Giant Trance 2014 27.5 1. So I reckon they would be current.

Cant say they have ever done this before when doing wheelies or jumps, seems to be only happening recently. I have had like 5 large crashes on the bike so it may be i've done some damage to a brake line through a large tug, when the handlebars have been thrashed around in a crash?

Pads are fine, not worn much.

How easy is it to bleed the brakes? Whats the best place to get the mineral oil?

moorey

call me Mia
They are on a Giant Trance 2014 27.5 1. So I reckon they would be current.