sony vegas 6

MikeT

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Hey, im new to vegas,

Heres my situation. I import a video file (.avi) i wanna cut up a few clips out of it and put them in a bin, i dont know what im doing wrong but they wont go in the bin. i may not be trimming properly i can cut a clip in the trimmer window and put it in the time line, but i cant seem to then get that clip into the bin i created.

Also when capturing, or even after capturing. If u have a large file with numerous different scenes is there a tool that will just split every scene up like in video studio.

Can anyone help?

cheers mike.

Oliver.

Liquid Productions
If u have a large file with numerous different scenes is there a tool that will just split every scene up like in video studio.
Mike, click on the part where you want to cut the clip, make sure that clip is selected, and go Edit>Split. thatll divide the clip up where the line is.

MikeT

Likes Bikes and Dirt
ahh yeh i know how to do that, but in video studio you can just say split scene by scene, and it splits every individual scene you've filmed and puts them in the library.

I dont really mind having to split each clip up its just its time consuming. The main thing i wanna know is how trim video in the timmer window and put them in bins.

demo man

Used to be cool.
when i'm splitting clips i just select the clip (by clicking on it), finding the point where i want to split it with the view bar, and hittin 'S' on the keyboard. easy.

as for this 'bin' thing, i don't know what you're on about. what sort of bin are you talking about? a rubbish bin? if so click delete. if it's like a folder for files then you may need to render the new shortned clip again to save it as a .avi/.wmv etc. file. i don't know what a bin is though, nor do i ever bother to use the trimmer. and when i say bother, i mena i don't know how to. something for the future.

and for the capturing bit;