Taking newbie's on rides

creepyjoe

Likes Dirt
Tasha said:
gauge taken out of my knee (cool scar now)
Look some chicks really do dig scars!
(No trying to sound sexist but it's common topic as to whether chicks actually do dig scars or not, in my experience, they generally don't =). Which is a shame coz I've got some marvelous specimens of scars in their natural environment, i.e. my elbow, ankle, hip, shoulder, knee)

On a related note, I'm a newbie but now soon I'll have a tough bike so watch out.
(My full-rigid xc bike didn't like being treated as a DH/Urban bike)

Techno Destructo

Riding In Peace
Finally got the wife into riding!

First time was when we were living back in Whistler (before the HUGE MTB boom that they have now). I put her on my XC bike, with clipless pedals (BIG MISTAKE), and tried riding some trails that I thought weren't too steep. She panicked, wiped out, hated it, and didn't do it again until a few weeks ago.

We went out with a group of old friends from Whistler, rented a bunch of bikes from a friend's shop and went to Oxford Falls (Sydney area). Since we had a few cars and a big ute, Penny (my wife) was introduced to the wonderful world of shuttling. On top of that, I gave her all my BEST gear, including my prime bike, and a little bit of armour. I rode the rental (shudder...).

In a group of seven, only two people had "good" bikes, and the rest were on rentals (which could barely cope with the easy lines...). Penny, after discovering how big tires, 5" of travel, platform pedals and disc brakes, etc... makes the sketchy suddenly easy (and kicks the rental bikes asses), was suddenly "claiming" sections, taking the lead of the group, and whipping off ahead of everyone whenever she got the chance!

At the bottom, as we loaded up the bikes, she would jump up and down, cheering "Hooray for the shuttle!"