The Designers' Corner

Gluey_trails

Likes Dirt
Hey guys,

I thought it'd be cool to have a design thread, bringing together all of the knowledge of the Rotorburn Community. I'm currently studying Industrial Design at UTS and I know there are a couple our Industrial Designers in here, as well as Architects, Graphic Designers etc.

So this is a place to share ideas, ask for help, share some cool things you find.

I'll kick start it.

I'm currently making a completely recycled Home Audio System, I'm calling it Pods.

I've ripped apart some old light tracking systems and using the old housing to place some speakers torn out of old audio systems. Will be running through an old amp I have at home.

Some pictures and how it's coming along.

Image009.jpg

Image001.jpg

Image008.jpg

._._._._._.

Likes Dirt
can't say I know too much about what you're doing, so I'll opt out. Does look pretty sweet though, creative etc etc.

I do a bit of web design stuff, trying to get decent portfolio of stuff going so I can get a good level of work going. If you were looking for a site to be done, and you come across this:

What's it say to you? What impression does it make? I'm fearing it might come across as too immature....

Constructive crits would be very much appreciated guys.

'Ross

Eats Squid
What's it say to you? What impression does it make? I'm fearing it might come across as too immature....

First Impression is colours are too harsh for me, turning down the blue a bit would help.

Have you tried using a shadow or outline (think stroke is the word designers like to use) to separate the 'Ryan Kennedy' from the yellow? Just seems to be some funny contrast going on there, but I think the strong background contributes to that as well.

This thread has some potential as well.

Gluey_trails

Likes Dirt
Looks a lot like the student SMH card, or whatever it is.