what bike should I get ?

n00b

Likes Dirt
Hey everyone im a bit of a newb when it comes to mountain biking (as the name suggests). Ive been looking a getting a new bike as my current bike is so badly thrashed it totally unrideable. Anyway ill get to the point im looking at getting a new hardtail I want to spend about $2500 maybe a little more. I ride mosty just urban stuff, the occcasional bush bash and a little dirt jumping.
The bikes ive been looking at so far are:
2002/2003 Jamis komodo
2003 Norco torrent
2004 Diamondback BSX PRO Super X
2003 Kona roast

Can anybody reccomend something suitable ore give me some advice on what to look for?

Thanks,
Leon

lupine128

Likes Bikes and Dirt
welcome to farkin,

either the roast or the torrent will give you excellent value for money, and you know that you are getting a quality product, with good warranty.
i don't know enough about either the diamond back, or the jamis to comment on them.
the kona and norco are both comparable in terms of strength and suitability, so look for the one that fits best, and that you are happiest with.
also look for the one with the best forks as that is most expensive part to upgrade later on.
for the money you are looking at, you won't have any problems at all getting a good bike.

n00b

Likes Dirt
Hmmm thanks for replies, I gotta go have a think about it.
BTW do you know of any other different bikes I might wanna go have a look at?

RaID

Likes Bikes and Dirt
dunno what forks those bikes have you mentioned
but for that money i would make sure that you have a good high quality fork,

id even suggest looking at a bike for $2000 and with the extra money upgrade the fork to something top quality

bazza

look at me