Wheel building costs

pineapplehead

Likes Dirt
Trying to weigh up replacing my current skinny rims or my entire bike.. I've currently got hold pro 4 hubs and am considering getting this laced into some new wider rims. I've never built wheels before and am honestly daunted by the prospect. What sort of costs are expected for wheel building + spokes, if I was to supply the rims?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

fatboyonabike

Captain oblivious
budget about $2.50 per spoke to buy, they should come with standard nipples.
if you want anodised nipples, allow extra for that
if you want DB spokes, they are extra too
see if you can get a copy of Roger Mussons wheel building book, this will help you with working everything out from spoke length to making up a wheel jig from plywood to allow you to lace and true the wheel
I did this a few years ago as my first time, and its fairly simple.
I got the wheels close to true and took into LBS to finish off, much cheaper than getting them to build from scratch

silentbutdeadly

has some good things to say
The wheel builder I use seems to average around $220 a wheelset if I supply the rims and hubs. Spokes are typically Sapim straight or double butted and nipples are always brass. Labour charge is $50 to $70 per wheel.

I could do it myself but for $70 for a wheel I never seem to have to true again...it's not worth it.

ChrisJC

Likes Bikes and Dirt
If you have a decent truing stand; tension guage and dishing tool, it’s just time and patience. Practice with some existing wheels. Loosen off all the spokes and then retension them seeing how true you can get them.

It costs at least several hundred to get set up for wheel building so you’d need to weigh it up.

Dales Cannon

lightbrain about 4pm
Staff member
I have built wheels using home made jigs from ply and pine but I didnt get the rush from doing it yourself. Just frustrated and angry. Then relieved that it worked. I just pay a not so close lbs.

Flow-Rider

Burner