Will a new bike make me ride?

Bryce88

Likes Dirt
Hi everyone... it's been a long time since I've posted here. I am a born again newbie.

Long story short, I live 5 minutes from my local tracks, yet have only accessed them twice in 12 months. It is (my excuses) because of a variety of reasons such as studying at university full time, working full time, and raising a family... also full time.

But... my kids are growing up slowly (2 and 4), and I am actually taking this summer off from studying - which means I will have 4 months of free time - and daylight savings starts in about 2 weeks! So plenty of time to ride.

Anyway... I turn 30 tomorrow and my lovely wife has left it up to me to decide on a present. I am thinking maybe this is the time to replace my 2012 Giant Reign? Have bikes changed much in 6 years? Am I stupid to buy a new bike considering I have only ridden twice in 12 months?

I should be studying for my exams right now...

Cheers for your input everyone.

pink poodle

気が狂っている男
A new bike will solve all your problems. This wife sounds like a keeper. If you want me to low ball you for the reign let me know.

Bryce88

Likes Dirt
Agree,
Need more info on where you are and trail type? A 6 year old AM bike is barely a modern trail bike due to changing trails
I live in Orange, 5 minutes from the Lake Canobolas Mountain bike park, and about 15 minutes from Kinross Forest. The trails are mostly single track, fast and flowing with some easy uphills. I know if I were to get a new bike it would not be another AM bike... or Giant (happy Moorey?).

bear the bear

Is a real bear
I live in Orange, 5 minutes from the Lake Canobolas Mountain bike park, and about 15 minutes from Kinross Forest. The trails are mostly single track, fast and flowing with some easy uphills. I know if I were to get a new bike it would not be another AM bike... or Giant (happy Moorey?).
Fast and flowing for me ATM falls into the 100-130mm travel range.