Working "from the inside" trying to encourage Local Councils to build MTB Tracks

Brooksy007

Likes Dirt
To all Trail Advocates,

Thought all the AWESOME Trail Advocates and Builders would be interested in knowing what I'm currently up to...

I work as a Senior Risk Consultant with an organisation known as Liability Mutual Insurance (previously known as Civic Mutual Plus, or CMP) who currently provide Public Liability & Professional Indemnity Insurance for ALL of the Local Councils here in Victoria and in Tasmania. I haven't been in the organisation all that long (around 3.5 years), however one think I've noticed - and no doubt you've all seen it before - is the seeming "relactance" of Local Governments (in Victoria particularly) of having any involvement with "off-road" pathways/tracks for Mountain Bikers. Be it the "stigma" attached to the sport, the prevelance of "illegal" trails, poor previous experiences, a fear of being sued, or a combination of everything - it appears to me as though they cannot see through all of the potential "negatives" to enable then to see the "positives". They never consult with us - their Insurer - however it is quite common for them to raise "insurance" as a factor. Let me put this to rest once and for all - no Insurer in Australia would specifically exclude this activity.

This was highlighted even further when I recently visited a couple of locations in Tasmania - namely the North South Track (including Tolosa) and the trails around Launceston. Not only have they done a very good job and managed to comply (as far as I can tell) with IMBA recommendations, these facilities are largely on Council-owned Land - something you almost NEVER see in Victoria (I personally know of none - all are on Crown Land).