XC racing - what gear?

tomchaffey

Likes Bikes
I'm pretty new to bike racing, xc in particular, so I'm wondering what others do for in-race gear. My current racing gear consists of hydration pack with about a litre or water, spare tube, levers and CO2 inflator. I'm thinking maybe dropping some of this, as it weighs a bit, and I've noticed alot of people don't even take a water bottle - they leave one at the transition area. Hydro pack is good, as it means I can always power through the transition, but it is also heavy the whole way round the course.

Also, in a B-grade race of about 28kms, are carbohydrates necessary? I was pretty hungry last time, but I didn't have the biggest breakfast:p

ducan

Likes Dirt
Drop the levers ( thumbs are where it is at with folding tires anyway), Drop the hydro pack for a 28 km race ! Just a spoon full of harden the .... up in a water bottle. Drink heaps before and after though. Get a ultra-lite tube as a spare, they way around 50 - 65 grams.

And big breakfasts suck before a race IMO. I have a big dinner and eat slowly through the day like fruit etc. Maybe not what is recommended you do but it doesn't make me sick or give me a lack of energy.

Raw Toast Man

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Drop the pack mate. Have a bottle on your bike. Have one sitting at transition if you need it.
Days leading up to a race I try and drink alot of water and have pasta type meals the night before. For food during that race, try an energy gel or two.
Tape your tube to the seatpost with a lever or your C02 majigo. That way you just have to rip it off and not worry about unzipping the bag after getting it off your back...
Also, try Endura the night before to stop cramps during the race. Have some more before and after the race.

I think thats its. Hope it helped.

mushroom

Likes Dirt