The Fixie Thread

crabapple hitz

Likes Dirt
Latest fad.

Lets all start riding around on kids bikes with really long seatposts and a milkcrate on the front like the old chinese guy up my street.
We could have races to see who could fit the most crap in their crate.
Plus instead of funky hats and bandanas we could see who could find the worst stackhat, baseball or icehockey helmet to wear.

rhysrhysbaby

Eats Squid

SDA

Likes Dirt
Out of interest what should you expect to pay for bikes like that? I thought the prices look semi reasonable, but I'm no expert on vintage track bikes
Without a doubt.. they would be making a decent margin on them! Salvaging old parts and restoring them wouldn't cost much.. just labour!

crabapple hitz

Likes Dirt
Out of interest what should you expect to pay for bikes like that? I thought the prices look semi reasonable, but I'm no expert on vintage track bikes
Me neither but I do like Vintage road bikes.
You can pick up a pretty nice 80's Italian roadie say a Colnago or a guerciotti
for around 1k these days. I can't see how a track bike could be more as it has less parts. I do know Japanese track frames can be a bit pricey but 3k???
I think it's a bit over the top.

RCOH

Eats Squid
time=money.

Sourcing parts, restoration and building would take a few hours at least, a few days at most. if you charge average bike mechanics hourly rate for all the time spent getting the bike together & looking as nice as they do then the ticket price is going to go up.

Last edited:

rhysrhysbaby

Eats Squid
Thanks for the answers.
All those 'added' costs of time are definite killers and is one of the main reasons I got my surly and didn't bother with building one from scratch.