Search results

1. B

Protective gear for DH?

How's it go? "well, that escalated quickly"... :-) Clearly there are more and less well defined reasons for choosing different protective gear. I tossed up for ages on the brace. I'm an engineer, the idea of spending a lot of money on something that doesn't have hard evidence of efficacy is...
  2. B

Protective gear for DH?

My take on the brace is that the pros outweigh the cons, and there's at least a little bit of evidence they can help mitigate some types of catastrophic injuries (neck) though perhaps at the expense of less disastrous ones (collarbone). @Mywifesirrational, I'd be keen to see anything related...
  3. B

Protective gear for DH?

Thanks for the comments. @Mattyp: good point re. instruction; open to recommendations in the Sydney area. @pink poodle: I forgot to mention he has gloves and goggles - the two things he wants to wear. I guess it's handy being able to see where you're going... He also has shin/knee and...
  4. B

Protective gear for DH?

My now 16 yo son's been riding for a couple of years, and was hospitalised - fortunately only briefly - 2 years ago with broken vertebrae from a stack he had when he was riding his hard tail school bike down Mt Keira (NSW)... He now has a decent bike, couple of helmets (Bell 2R and a proper...
  5. B

Chain drops w/ FSA 'Megatooth' chainring - options?

Six-ish months later, not a single chain drop on the SRAM crankset. Chalk and cheese compared to the FSA. I also note that Merida have ditched the FSA on the 2016 model in favour of the SRAM.
  6. B

12 x 157mm thru axles?

The thread pitch on my axle is 1.5mm, the "X-12" at CRC is 1.0mm. Turns out 1.5mm is the "E-Thru" standard, CRC are out of stock but lo and behold Cell Bikes have a Shimano axle that ought to work: http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/au/en/dt-swiss-rws-e-thru-alloy/rp-prod123930...
  7. B

12 x 157mm thru axles?