Importing parts

spiked

Likes Bikes
With the way the aussie dollar is going (there predicting it might be 80 cents cum sometime next year) i thought it might be alot cheaper to import sum parts from the states.Anyone done this previosly and if so what companies have u delt with or know of and what sought of taxes are u likely to incur?Im new to this and any info would be great.

inlina

Likes Dirt
Don't know what was in the previous thread, but be carefull.

Couple of examples:
-I imported a whole bunch of stuff last year (basically bought some stuff on Ebay), and the smaller stuff that wasn't worth too much (cranks, brakes, chain guide) didn't attract any additional costs coming through customs. However, I also got some forks which cost not quite $300, and I had to pay an extra $130 to get them through customs.
-My brother just bought a digital camera, and he checked there were no import duties (digital cameras attract no duties). However, he had to also pay over $100 extra to get them through customs.

I just had a look at the customs web site, and one of the basic rules is that for any consignmets over $250 being shipped in by sea/air cargo or $1000 by regular post attracts a mandatory customs clearing fee.

Also, I think you have to pay GST on such items based on the consignmet value written in on the declaration by the sender (so if you know the sender, you can get them to write down the value as less, of course this is generally a Federal offence at both ends).

Ultimately, it's only really worth it if you are importing small consignments of odd bits, or big comercial type consignments.

There is a whole lot of tax and duty implications, I would suggest you contact an accountant or lawyer if you want to do it on a serious level.

CG

Ty

Eats Squid