Improving my confidence..

Mitten

Likes Bikes
Hey all I've been riding mtbs for over 20 years but always just for fitness/fun but least year I broke the bank and bought a duelie (Polygon N8 from a online shop). Now I really like the bike but I'm an extremely nervous rider, I really lack confidence... I've joined a small work rabble group that goes for a weekly group ride. I'm the slowest by a mile. I'm 40 and usually the youngest rider as well. The other riders just seem so much more fearless going through Rock gardens, dodging between trees at dangerous speeds and always going for the big jumps. A particular jump on one of the rides I've never had the balls to jump over and always elect to ride around..
I've watched a few YouTube videos on techniques and cornering but I just can't get my skills up, everytime I push a bit the bike might slide or get out if shape and boom I'm back to square one. I'm not unfit and usually overtake my friends on the climbs but once we start descending they leave me in the dust..
Just wondering if there is some advice on riding faster? My biggest issue comes from my younger brother who broke both his arms 10 years ago in a MTB crash and took years to fully recover. Everytime I ride past rocks and other jagged objects my mind tells me to slow down as landing on those things is really going to hurt..

Dales Cannon

lightbrain about 4pm
Staff member
It is different for everyone. First things first, dont give up. Second only you can decide what you are comfortable with. Going out of your comfort zone is fine but if you have a bad crash then your confidence will be shot. With jumps etc spend some time trackside watching others. Get a feel for speed and line. At the end of the day if you cant do it so what, enjoy riding.