MTB parts interchangeability for beginners?

2DIE

Likes Dirt
I just bought a GT Avalanche 3.0 (large) for $100 which seems like a solid bike apart from the suspension forks feel crappy and the gears feel really clunky.

I roughly know most forks will fit with a 1 1/8 stem but I have no idea about the gear selectors and derailers, the brake levers and gear selectors seem to be made on the same mounting bracket. Would I need to change the selectors and brake levers if I changed the derailers or could I keep the ones on there?

I'm probably just going to buy another bike and swap parts over rather than buy new due to costs but I don't know what I should be looking for.

I have very little knowledge of mountian bikes so any advice will help, thanks.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

yuley95

soft-arse Yuley is on the lifts again
I just bought a GT Avalanche 3.0 (large) for $100 which seems like a solid bike apart from the suspension forks feel crappy and the gears feel really clunky.

I roughly know most forks will fit with a 1 1/8 stem but I have no idea about the gear selectors and derailers, the brake levers and gear selectors seem to be made on the same mounting bracket. Would I need to change the selectors and brake levers if I changed the derailers or could I keep the ones on there?

I'm probably just going to buy another bike and swap parts over rather than buy new due to costs but I don't know what I should be looking for.

Hey mate, welcome to the forum.

Best to get a cheap set of hydraulic brakes such as these or some second hand shimano deore or avid elixir brakes and separate shifter pods for a new derailleur.

You can generally get second hand things on here that will get you going for now and can upgrade later if you enjoy getting out on the bike.