Put 29 inch wheels on 26 inch frame?

bkpr

Likes Bikes
Hey everyone. Short time reader, first time poster.

I have purchased a 2006 Kona Unit 19" second hand, same as this: http://www.konabikes.co.uk/2k6bikes/unit_2k6.php

It came with a bunch of upgrades:
- Juicy 5 disc brakes
- White Ind 16t freewheel
- 42t blackspire downhill SS chainring
- V12 pedals
- Kona Project 2 forks
- new thompson stem, ea70 monkey bars, WTB seat, carbon post etc...

I've been riding it for about 12 months, I love it, but have decided I'd like more top speed. I use it 95% for commuting, and the rest on light trails with the girlfriend.

I wanted to know whether I could install 29 inch wheels onto the 26 frame. Using guesstimation, it appears that an extra 3 inchs will clear the arch of the forks and the rear frame section, but wanted any info if this is a good idea or not, for example, will the frame be under any excess stress from such an upgrade?

I've seen a UK forum post where some had posted photos of such a modification to a Kona 26 Unit, but sadly the photos aren't online anymore. This leads me to believe it's possible...

Another route I've considered, is to increase the chainring size, but anything over a 42t will hit the chainstay, so no go there.

Also, at the moment I'm running Maxxis overdrive tyres:
http://www.maxxis.com/products/bicycle/product_detail.asp?id=225
...so they're not very high profile, but I'd like the option to be able to whack something a little more knobbly on for some medium off-road work sometimes. (I guess I could just whack the 26 wheels back on for this?)

If anyone has any advice/suggestions, I'd greatly appreciate it.
Thanks in advance!

John U

MTB Precision
It is possible, you just need to sure of your clearance which may mean you will need to have fairly narrow tyres. I think the Cannondale Bad Boy is effectively a 26inch frame with 29inch wheels and some fairly low profile tyres.