Light Bicycle Carbon Rims/Wheels (Review Included on 1st Post))

creaky

XMAS Plumper
Sweet

what about leakage? With less surface area (tyre bead to rim hook)... have you found tubeless set up slightly more laborious to seal up?
No more leakage than any other tubeless setup. I never really have any problems with tubeless tyres not sealing decently enough o go and ride straight away

Not hard to seal with a hard n fast shot of compressed air. I don't even bother trying to use a hand pump with these rims, stans rims, AC rims, WTB rims ..... just go straight to the gas. I guess the issue may come if the rim bed does not have a sufficient diameter to hold the base of the tyre bead reasonably tight.

I have no experience with the LB ones in that regard.

houli77

Likes Dirt
My lb rims seated tubeless with floor pump.. I always try with floor pump first and usually get it provided I take the valve core out. I have a compressor for bastard ones but find I hardly need it. Can't imagine hookless would be any different to seat, it may not crack into place as hard but once the bead is stretched over the rim it should still lock into place. One thing I always do also is paint the bead with sealant just before seating, seems to help it slide into place and I imagine it may help stop burping by bonding the rim to the tire slightly.

rednightmare

Likes Dirt
Bump...

Might be a bit of a stupid question but if I were to buy carbon rims from Light Bicycle, could I just take them took a shop to get laced up, or do you need special spokes or something?

Also, does anyone have any ride time on the DH rims? Just wondering how they're holding up.

russmu66

Likes Bikes
Any wheel builder can build them up... no special parts required.

In fact I found them easier to build up than any alloy rims I'd used in the past.

Cheers
Murray

hellmansam

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Bump...