COVID-19: who’s going full doomsday prep on this?

Dales Cannon

lightbrain about 4pm
Staff member
My 5c.

We wont see the impact of this on a large scale for at least a month. Despite people returning from overseas being cautioned they will still mix and mingle for a week or two before they are symptomatic. Then you think about the contact they have had in that period. With the average infection rate of 2.5x it doesn't take long for things to get out of hand. Add this to the fact that many will just feel as though they have normal winter colds and flu and will be infectious. A mate and his wife arrived back from Europe via Hong Kong airport this weekend. Airport terminal was pretty much empty but if they picked up something on the flights or in the terminals they will have visited a shit load of places and people before their symptoms start to become manifest.

So I am far from an expert on anything much less this subject but I think there is a real chance it will get big and out of control.

The vulnerable are those with pre-existing conditions / predispositions or those whose immune system struggles.

What happens as winter starts? The grey gonads (mate's wife coined this term) become peripatetic. They bunch together in caravan parks and bush and free camps. Lots and lots of these are in the middle of bumfuck nowhere. How is somewhere like Burke going to cope with 30 or 50 cases of this flu in a froup of 70+ travellers? How do you set aside enough care and facilities to quarantine that sort of thing in multiple country towns?

Then there are those who will ignore the signs and just continue going to work, commuting etc because we all know and have worked with people who think they absolutely have to be at work. Or even those who don't have any shits to give and think if I have it then someone else can get it too.