COVID-19: who’s going full doomsday prep on this?

cokeonspecialtwodollars

Fartes of Portingale
I'm not an expert on COVID nor on mental health and suicide, however I have had my own personal experiences with the latter. I agree with PoSM that the triggers between individuals vary so much, where one may thrive and another succumb, it's near impossible to tailor a response that will work for everyone. When people argue that more people have died from 'X' opposed to COVID it's always important to ask whether that is because of our efforts or in spite of them, sure things like quarantine and the vaccine rollout could have been handled better and sure more could be done to address mental health, heart disease, <inset malaise of the population> in the main stream media but the major difference I see between these is that suicide isn't contagious. I don't know if this belongs here or in the black dog thread but personally I find discussing my mental health issues to be counter productive and I loathe the RUOK style message that for one day of the year all of a sudden everyone gives a shit and then once you've checked in and it's off your chest, you're all better we'll go straight back to how it was for all the other days.

caad9

Likes Bikes and Dirt
It is. You could be right. I don’t know. As my conversation with Dean progressed, it became clear he’s more pissed about having to spend 14 days in quarantine. He’s just been paid to party and ride OS for the last 5 months, so to me, it just comes off as entitled and insensitive to what most of his fans are dealing with. He then shifted it to more people dying from suicide than Covid, and IMHO, that’s a ridiculous point in this context.
That’s my take on his post anyway.
I am all for people being themselves, but his actions over the past 18 months don't point to someone with a good grip on life.
I don't buy the whole outfits and hairstyles 'to bring smiles' thing he is running with either.