Do old fools train?

Calvin M

Likes Dirt
Do most of you that race DH or XC train. Gym work or make your self go for XC rides etc. Or is your only training when you ride for fun. And if you do train has it helped your results in racing.

Just interested to see what other vets do as half way thought this last DH summer I started training and my results relay improved.

Last edited:

Shrekmeister

Likes Dirt
Depends on our individual goals, time available, comitment etc etc...so you will probably get a variety of answers...

Hugor

Likes Dirt
I ride 3 - 4 times per week off road - usually fun singletrack with the guys.
I commute almost every day by bike.
I don't think of it as training though, but rather do it cause its fun and keeps the weight off.
Training sounds like hard work.

Looserider

Likes Bikes
I try and have at least 6 beers every night, and if I am feeling up to it I try to have another 2 or 3. I find that it really helps if I dont get blind the night before a race and I never drink more than two bottles of red wine the night before. I never drink on race days as I find that every now and then it can slow me down and instead of seeing single trails on the odd occasion a double trail appears. Hope this helps. hic.
:D

spyderman_au

Likes Bikes and Dirt
Don't have enough time to train. That is why I concentrate on DH.

If I had more time to train I would ride some 50km races with my mates but see no point in racing and coming last.

casnell

Likes Bikes and Dirt
I'm doing heaps of boring road stuff at the moment because I was silly enough to enter tour de timor - big hills yet to come....

FINX74

Likes Dirt
Training