Murder or self defense?

Jesterarts

Likes Dirt
So, probably starting a bit of a hot thread but this is something that really impacted me:
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/emotional...iller-benjamin-batterham-20160327-gns2z6.html

Long story short; career criminal breaks into some blokes house while he and his family are in it. The owner of the found discovers this and an confrontation ensues. In this confrontation the bloke who broke in is put in a choke hold and ends up with a broken neck.

Now the home owner is up for murder.

This is actually probably one of my nightmare situations; finding an intruder in the house while my wife is there.

Many moons ago, I was a trained martial arts instructor and the essence of self defence was to inflict the appropriate amount of force onto your attacker until they are no longer a threat. For some that is verbal intimidation, for others it's maybe a joint lock/restraint and for some who are really going, it's chokes until they wee themselves.

My concern now, is that if I have to go down the most extreme course of action for someone who is either high or just really aggressive, and it goes wrong I would end up being charged for murder.

The reason this is a worry, is that if I don't go down the other path of inflicting less damage, the result could be me being in the right, but dead. I don't think I would get much comfort that I acted "the right way" when I am 6 foot under and the intruder gets charged with manslaughter/murder. Neither would my family.

So hypothetical; I'm at home with my wife, I hear something, I investigate and find an aggressive intruder in my house. Now what?

John U

MTB Precision
I read this earlier too. It seems odd the bloke who was defending his family/home is up for murder. There was a lot of talk about the crims kids having to grow up without a dad. There may be more to come that will make it make more sense. There are no winners in this story though.

hifiandmtb

Sphincter beanie