Post your All MTN/Funduro hardtail

jimipolar

Likes Bikes
What frame is that? it looks familiar.

And you hit the trails with rigid forks? I thought I was being adventurous getting a hardtail, couldn't imagine riding without suspension up front.
Thanks for taking some interest Mike.

The frame is nothing spectacular, it's from an old Shogun mountain bike. Finish came out pretty good on it, ha ha it took me 3 days to strip it all down and hand polish the alloy up to that shine. It's a small frame, super light.

I've been burning around the city on it for the past 3 months, taking stairs and drops with ease. When you hop back on a bike with a rigid fork you feel closer to the ground somehow. I am interested in developing my riding technique so i wanted to rebuild this bike to feel the ground more. Might sound a little unforgiving, but carbon flexes in a ways unlike steel. It feels smooth. On or off the trails.

I spec'd out the bike with a new drivetrain, sticking to 7 speed but utilising a Saint short cage derailleur to minimise chatter, they're sprung tight and it really helps to keep the chain tucked up neat.

Went back to a wide stance on the front end too, still getting used to the extra width, i am taking tight gaps with a bit more care till i work it all out, but it makes it much easier to throw around :)

It's geared tight, 28 tooth chainring and a 12 - 21 cluster. Just enough to make the climbs and to not spin out on descents.

samlu

Likes Bikes
Whats your budget? Are you looking for a complete bike or you willing to go for a custom build?

I've just placed an order for a Cotic BFe, will be doing a custom build with 160mm forks to give me a little room for error on the steeper descents. If you google All mountain hardtail heaps of options will come up, the ones that I noticed popping up a lot were -

- Evil Sovereign
- Transition Trans Am
- On One 456 (think theres a carbon and steel version of this frame)
- Ragely Blue Pig
- Dialled Alpine